Forum Captain'sLog Crewlist CrewWanted BoatForsale Classifieds Boat Sailor
Edit My Frofile    Last Update:
2017-04-23 09:36:39 (Vancouver Time)
Sailor Description
(Profile been Visited 135 times since signed up)
Sailor ID: 26263
Sailor Name: Janos.Peters
Gender: male
Age: 21
Email:  [non-public]
Current Location:
Edinburgh, Lothian, UK
Local Info Volunteer: No
Main Activity: DistantCruise
Nationality: Germany
Looking for crew position? Yes
Boat(s) On file:
Crew Ad Title:
Atlantic Crossing
Website URL:

Hi! I currnetly live in Scotland having finished my Geography and Environmental Studies degree, and am very ready to get out and explore the world. I'd love to do so by sailing and at the minute the first challenge looks to be getting across the Atlantic to the Caribbean in late 2017/early 2018. I will be based in Edinburgh until October 2017, after which I would be looking to join a boat. Ideally this would be In the Mediterranean/Europe and heading to the Canaries and on to the Caribbean. I would be looking to join at the end of October/beginning of November. From there on plans are vague, and I will see where the wind takes me! Personally, I'm easy going and calm, but always keen to meet new and interesting people. I'm enthusiastic to go out and explore. I really enjoy getting to know new people and sharing experiences. The outdoors is where my heart belongs and I love a good adventure. I've spent my free summers during my degree travelling around Europe, from hiking on my own in the arctic circle to rebuilding an abandoned house in the mountains in Spain. I also love sitting down with a good book and enjoying where I am. On board I'm very keen to learn and expand my sailing skills. I believe I'm quite practical, or at least enthusiastic to learn. I really enjoy cooking and am used to being in the galley in heavy seas! I'm used to living out of my bag and will be tidy. I'm a respectful and polite individual and have learnt to coexist well with many different people when sailing. Currently I am busy finishing my dissertation on low-carbon policy, whilst working as a waiter/barman to earn some money for travelling. I have some plans to sail in the summer 2017 to get some more experience. I'll be taking part in the Tall Ships Races in the Baltic, as well as volunteering with Ocean Youth Trust Scotland as a Watchleader, where I will be working with and teaching a crew of children. I'll be doing my RYA Day Skipper as well in September. I would be very grateful if you would consider me to join your boat. I know how small the spaces are that have to be shared, and am a very mindful crewmember. Am of course also willing to contribute to boat and food costs. All the best, Janos